The Bigger Picture

Hello Friends,

I always love to tell you where I am at. Right now I am in my bed with my beloved cup of tea at 1:30 a.m. in the morning. “Why tea? Do you not like coffee?” You ask. Coffee is alright. My whole family is into the daily intake of coffee which is why I absolutely love the smell of coffee. The taste? Not so much. Even if its more creamer than coffee, I still cannot stand the bitterness. Now you are also probably wondering why I am up so late. The reason is, I cannot sleep. Sometimes I sleep and sometimes I don’t.  My dad has named me “The Light Sleeper.”

Today, I want to do something a bit different. I don’t want to shove information down your throat instead I want to pray for you and remind you that sometimes life is hard and we may not understand why things fall through and go wrong. Looking back at my life, it is one bumpy ride. Life has many ups and downs yet, in some way, through the struggles, I believe it is still good. I love the story of Joseph because it is a story that has the answer to “why bad stuff happens.” In the Bible, Joseph was called to do something great. He was reminded by his parents and God that he was destined for something amazing.  God favored him but he was betrayed by the brothers he looked up to, sold as a slave to a life full of hard work and thrown into prison for a crime he did not commit. He wrestled with his faith and questioned God at times, wondering if he had been abandoned. With faith as small as a mustard seed, he still trusted that God had better things for him out there. He experienced hurt, loneliness, betrayal and hard work. His life circumstances just did not make sense. Although Joseph went through a lot of frustration, he did not give up and continued to TRUST in the Lord. Years and years later, he realized the Lord sent him and made everything fall into place. When he was saving his own family from starvation, his brothers asked for forgiveness and wished they had never sent him away. Joseph replied with this.

“God has sent me ahead of you to keep you and your families alive and to preserve many survivors.
So it was God who sent me here, not you!” -Genesis 45:7-8

Because Joseph went through all those bumps in life and trusted in the Lord, he was used to save many people as part of God’s bigger plan. His faithfulness to the Lord molded him to be a very wise man, eventually an overseer for the pharaoh of Egypt and being used to save many people from starvation. This next verse describes God’s hand on Joseph’s life.

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” -Romans 8:28

Many people have a misconception of this verse. It does not mean that there will be something “good” out of this mess of life right when you make it through that hump. Of course, God wants to bless you deeply and richly but this verse means the pain or struggles that you may be going through may be for something better. He uses the pain to make you stronger, wiser and a better person. He placed you at the right place, at the right time to be used as a vessel for a greater purpose outside of your own. It may seem like the wrong place but it may save someone’s life. How amazing is that, you are being part of a greater story!

God used the broken. Joseph walked through pain and it taught him to be a wise leader. Through this wisdom, Joseph was able to save the people of Egypt. God uses broken people, like you, like me, like Joseph to do great things, to be part of a bigger picture.

God is always with you. He is listening. He wants to be your dear friend. And He wants to hear your voice and have you trust in Him. He is waiting for you with arms wide open for you to run into and He will never leave  you.

Can I pray for you?

Lord,

We come before you in all our broken, suffering and hurt. I ask that you would give us courage to continue to overcome our unbelief and strength to continue to take a step forward even in this mess. We don’t understand why this is happening but we know we are here for a reason. Help us find the strength to have faith. I ask for peace over my friends. I ask that you would help us walk in the victory and authority in all you are. We renounce fear, depression, anger, shame and the lies of the enemy. I ask that you would heap blessings upon your son/daughter. You are with them, you have your hand upon them. Nothing slips from your grasp and you have given them a future, a plan of hope and not of disaster. You make all things work out for the greater good. As it says over and over in your words, we are sealed in your name, covered by your grace, beautiful and precious in your eyes. We believe this and we thank you for walking with us. May you be magnified in your prosperity, may you be glorified in all we have. Amen!

So friends, remember that it may not make sense now but He sees the beginning and the end. He knows how its all going to work out. It will be okay. Love you all! If you ever need to talk, prayer or anything, my email is in my profile.

Have a beautiful day!

xox

Bri

IMG_1107

Leave a Reply

